Graduation Task Force Action Team

The Graduation Task Force exists because of the reality that one in four students in Brown County in grades 6-12 is at risk of dropping out. Furthermore, there is a 20-point equity gap between high school graduation rates for white and black students in Brown County.

In response, in 2017 Achieve Brown County convened local school districts and mentoring services to design and implement a system that detects students at risk of dropping out and pairs them up with community-based mentoring supports. In the first year of the pilot program, more than 50 students were supported. Now in it’s third year, the program has scaled to serve more than 200 students in the 2020-21 school year.

The overarching goals of the Graduation Task Force are a 100% graduation rate in Brown County and to close the disparity in graduation rates among white students and students of color. We believe that the systems change of implementing a standardized process for identifying kids at risk of dropping out and referring them to mentoring supports is the key to reaching these goals.

Team Leadership

Ann McCotter, Director of Collaborative Action
Achieve Brown County

Shallen Gurtler, Project Team Lead
Achieve Brown County – AmeriCorps Vista

Christian Roovers, EBDM Manager
Achieve Brown County

Team Members

  • Mary Malcore-Miller, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Northeast Wisconsin
  • Johanna Wicklund, Boys & Girls Club of Green Bay
  • Kathleen McKee, Green Bay YMCA
  • Kathy Farr, Denmark School District
  • Vicki Bayer, Green Bay Area Public Schools
  • Jennie Garceau, Howard-Suamico School District
  • Orleana Batiste, Youth Enrichment Services
  • Tammy Nicholson, Ashwaubenon School District